‘Olelo No’eau

Mai ka ā a ka w.

From A to W.

The alphabet of Hawaiian.

The Hawaiian alphabet (ka pī’āpā Hawai’ i) has only 12 letters:  5 vowels: A, E, I, O, U; 7 consonants: H, K, L, M, N, P, W.  There are several vowel combinations (dipthongs): ae, ai, ao, au, ei, eu, iu, oi, ou.

Hawaiian words never end with a consonant and never have two consonants together.

Hawaiian uses an okina (reverse apostrophe) and a kohoka (a line over a vowel which indicates that the vowel should be held longer: ā) to help with pronunciation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s